Springboks seal third Rugby World Cup in Japan

Springboks clinch RWC title to sit alongside 1995 and 2007 successes

South Africa wing Cheslin Kolbe celebrates his late try in Saturday’s Rugby World Cup final win

Makazole Mapimpi and Cheslin Kolbe tries, plus 22 points via the boot of Handre Pollard, saw a monstrously-physical South Africa seal a third Rugby World Cup triumph, beating an off-colour England 32-12 in Yokohama.

Owen Farrell notched all of England’s points off the tee courtesy of four penalties, but Eddie Jones’ charges were punished for repeated errors and unable to get past a staunch South Africa defence.

The Springboks make history as the first nation ever to lose a Rugby World Cup game – their opening Pool B clash with New Zealand – and go on to lift the cup, while also becoming the first side to win a Rugby Championship or Tri-Nations title and World Cup in the same year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s