By Kasule Mubarak

Over 500 players are expected to take part in the 12th edition of the Rwabushenyi Memorial Open Chess Championship due November 28,2019.

 The tournament is memory of the former Uganda Chess Federation president, the late Cyril Rwabushenyi.

 Seven countries including Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Rwanda, Tanzania and hosts Uganda will take part in this year’s edition.

Defending champion IM Arthur Ssegwanyi is expected to face stiff challenge from FM Kawuma Patrick and IM Elijah Emojong as he seeks to retain his title.

David Muwanguzi, the Public Relations Officer of the federation noted, “We expect this edition to be a thrilling one. We know over 400 fans will be coming out to support their best players and cheer them to victory,”

It’s an entertaining edition where the timing also favours most to come out and support their best players” he added,

The tournament will be held at the Xanada Collection Suites.​

Past winners

2018-IM Arthur Ssegwanyi           

 2017-FM Patrick Kawuma

 2016-FM Harold Wanyama

 2015- FM Harold Wanyama

 2014-IM Arthur Ssegwanyi

 2013- IM Elijah Emojong

 2012- FM Harold Wanyama

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s