By Barbra Namanyi

2019: NRC Driver Yasin Nasser

2019: NRC Navigator: Ali Katumba  

2019: CRC Ibrahim Lubega

Unofficial provisional results

1. Yasin Nasser

2. Omar Mayanja

3. Ronald Ssebuguzi

4. Arthur blick jr.

5. Ranjit Kuku

6. Hassan Alwi

Past NRC champions

2018: Suzan Muwonge

2017: Christakis Fitidis

2016: Jas Mangat

2015: Arthur Blick Jr.

2014: Ronald Ssebuguzi

2013: Jas Mangat

2012: Jas Mangat

2011: Suzan Muwonge

2010 Nasser Mutebi

2009: Ronald Ssebuguzi

2008: Dr. Ashraf Ahmed

2007: Ponsiano Lwakataka

2006: Ronald Ssebuguzi

2005: Ponsiano Lwakataka

2001: Charlie Lubega

2000: Charlie Lubega

1999: Moses Lumala.

After winning the National Rally Championship (NRC) crown, Yasin Nasser has his sight set on the World rally championship in Nairobi next year.

Nasser disclosed this on Sunday after being declared champion at the end of the MOSAC Rally in Kapeeka whose final results are yet to be announced because of the pending petitions to be tackled today by the stewards.

“According the Clerk of the Course (COC) Shafik Matovu, the Stewards will hear all the petitions today and the final results will release tomorrow (Wednesday).

“I’m waiting for the decision of the stewards, which has no effect on the NRC winner,” Matovu said.

Mark Lubega and Unisan Bakunda in action. PHOTO BY JOHNSON WERE

Nasser on his part attributed the victory to patience and team work.

“This has been along and tough journey, but we are very grateful to emerge the 2019 national rally champions. I thank my team and family for the support,” Nasser stated.

“We shall prepare to defend it next year, but also our focus is on the (WRC) in Kenya next year in July,” the MOIL fuelled driver added.

With 30-pont gap separating him with Arthur Blick jr, Nasser navigated by Ali Katumba in Subaru Impreza GVB started MOSAC the rally on Saturday targeting a second position despite the tough opposition from Blick, Ronald Ssebuguzi, Omar Mayanja and Hassan Alwi.

He managed to hold the pressure and completed the event on top of the event, while his challenger blick finished fourth overall.
How Nasser won the NRC Title

Yasin Nasser in action

Nasser started the season on a low note in the Mbarara rally when he finished eighth overall grabbing 35 points, but put up a spirited fight to finish second in the Masaka rally collecting 80 points.

He however, faulted again when he finished ninth overall to in the Mukono rally collecting 30 points, however, his turning point was when he won the Pearl of Africa Uganda Rally, collecting 140 points to tally 275points.

“Winning the Pearl of Rally was the turning point for us. It is a moment we felt that if we stepped up the fight, we could win it and indeed we are champions now,” Yasin explained.

The crew gained lead on the NRC standing when they finished third in the Fortportal Rally and maintained it in the Total Kabalega Rally where they second after Ronald Ssebuguzi dropped out of the event.

Ibrahim Lubega aka ‘Pasuwa’ won the CRC title after Rajiv dropped out of the event.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s