By Our team

Rally driver Rajiv Ruparelia has officially taken over the leadership Central Motorsport Club (CMC) formed 12-years ago from founder Rajab Kavuma.

Ruparelia was appointed Chairman of the five-member Board of Trustees which is the Club’s top management organ.

Central Motor Club elected board of trustees and the Executive committee afterthe assembly on saturday at Kabira Country Club. Virgin Images

Other members of the 2017 Nile Special-Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) rally driver of the year Christakis Fitidis, Nelson Walusimbi (Secretary), Mike Mwangi (Treasurer) and Junju Kiwewa (Member).

Kavuma has been club chairman since its inception in 2008.

In his handover speech Kavuma cautioned the new leaders against individualism if they are to achieve the club objectives.

Registration of members.

“You should work as a team if you are to be successful,” Kavuma noted.

The Executive committee chairman Shyam Kotecha promised that his club will organise safe and quality rally events.

“We are organise capacity building training so that officials, safety Marshals, competitors and volunteers are equipped with knowledge and experience to organise quality events,” Kotecha said.

“As a club we shall be involved in charity activities to be able to build communities and empower children because they are the future of motorsport and our country,” Kotecha added.

Members of Motorsport in the Assembly at Kabira Country ClUB.

The club has ordinary membership which goes for sh600,000 per year and life membership that goes for sh5m.

The club has recruited top drivers including national rally champions Jas Mangat, Dr. Ashraf Ahmed, Christakis Fitidis, Yasin Nasser and Super Lady Suzan Muwonge.

FMU vice chairman Shemmy Ssenkatuka in red attended CMC Club assembly . PHOTO BY JOHNSON WERE

Federation of Motorsport Clubs of Uganda (FMU) vice president Shemmy Ssenkatuuka lauded the club members for organising a peaceful election and urged other clubs to emulate that.

He urged the new executive to stick to the sporting ethics as they promote their club and be able to protect the integrity of the Club.

He also advised them to work harder as a team if they are to achieve targets.

Elected officials:

Board of Trustees:

Chairman: Rajiv Ruparelia

Vice chairman Christakis Fitidis

Secretary: Nelson Walusimbi

Treasurer: Mike Mwangi

Member: Junju Kiweewa.

Executive Committee:

Chairman: Shyam Kotecha

Vice Chairman: Said Kakeeto

General Secretary: Enock Olinga

Treasurer: Anuj Thakhrar

Competitions Secretary: Avan Singh

Health & Safety: Gideon Kirumira

Fans & Media Secretary: Gareth Onyango

Disciplinary secretary: Ssali Babu

Welfare & entertainment: Patrick Salvador

Equipment secretary: Daniel Kaliu

Members: Mark Lubega, Eric Amadi and Michel Ssebina


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s