Dipu is FMU President

By JW Ogola

Dipu Ruparelia swept all his opponents with a landslide win   in the elections held at Kati-Kati Lugogo to become the fifth president of the Federation of Motorsport Clubs of Uganda (FMU).

Members of FMU Senate at the FMU elections.

The former rally driver tallied 36voted, 11 ahead of second Jack Wavamunno (25votes), incumbent president Dusman Okee collected 14 votes while, city Advocate Geofrey Nsamba got 11votes.

Dipu thanked voters for the trust and promised not to let them down. “There has been a lot of mudsling said, but we are here to clean the sport,” Dipu stated in his acceptance speech after chairman of electoral committee Fred Obbo declared him winner.

The FMU Executive with National Council of Sports assistant secretary David Katende after being elected. PHOTO BY JOHNSON WERE

“Our first move will be to consult the stake holders and before we come up with our strategic plan,” he added.

FMU elections on

The Federation of motorsport clubs of Uganda (FMU) and the electoral commision has burried their hutchet confirming saturdayFebuary 1,2020 as date for the election of new office bearers.

The row had erupted following the EC’s bulletin 005 that threw out delegates from six clubs which included Southern Motorsport Club, UMOSPOC, Vintage, Uganda Motocross club, Mbarara, Eastern Motorsport Club and some members of Uganda Motorsport Marshals Association.

“We have agreed we go on with elections and members has to vote. Electoral commision had just assumed powers which is not theirs,” UMOSPOC vice president Justin Mungoma noted.

Sports Minister visits FMU

State minister for sports Hamson Denis Obua on Thursday January 22,2020 visited the Federation of Motorsports Clubs of Uganda (FMU) Executive.

Hon.Obua Lauded the Motorsport governing body for narturing and developing Talents , thus promising his full support. He also passed by Netball Federation office & Uganda Boxing federation office.

He promised to dedicate his time and support them get more partners on board to sponsor their activities.

The FMU Executive members also shared with the minister about the demands
The Hon Minister also had lunch with his team . PHOTO Kinthan Images

Rally Sprint Launched

It will be fireworks as rally drivers hunt for maximum points in the Clubman Rally Championship, 2WD and Sprint Championships respectively during the FMU Sprint on Sunday at Festino Cite on January26,2020.

The event supported by Coca-cola is the season opener and this year the drivers in CRC ,2WD and Sprint championships will battle out in 10 events.

Abdul Kateete testing his Subaru N10. PHOTO By Virgin Images
Coca-Cola official George Malinga adressing the media at the launch of the Sprint.PHOTO BY Virgin Images
Event safety official Jamil Mucakaze showing the Police the circuit to identify the black spots. Virgin Images

Uganda are champions

By USPA media

“The track was very bad, soaked t but am impressed the team did it and we defended the title. They were determined to go home victorious and indeed they are champions,” Those were the words of joy team captain Maxime van pee said after Uganda was declared FIM CAC champions.

Uganda pooled a total of 2075 points to beat their host Kenya who pooled 952 points from the two legs.

Uganda’s lion share of points was pooled by junior classes dominated podiums in the MX50,65,85, MX125 classes.

Miguel Katende opened the day winning the 50cc category class, as teammate Ramathan Mubiru and Liam Ntale finished second and third Respectively.

Gift Ssebuguzi battling the Kenyans alone was un stoppable as he won all the three heats to become the 65cc champion, while in the 85cc class, Waleed Omar, Jeremiah Mawanda and Milton Akaki finished second, third and fourth respectively behind win Alex Kandie of Kenya.

In the MX125cc, Uganda still dominated the class with Fortune Ssentamu, Wazir Omar, Kylan Wekesa and Ali Omar Yasser of team Uganda taking the first to fourth positions before team captain Maxime Van Pee wrapped it up by winning the MX1class.

 Team captain Maxime van pee lauded his charges for the fight despite the unconducive environment.

Provisional Results


Miguel Katende 57

Ramathan Mubiru 54

Liam Ntale 30


Gift Ssebuguzi (UG) 60

Tanav Choda  (KEN) 49

Ateete Wahome (KEN)32


Alex Kandie (KEN) 57

Waleed Omar (UG) 48

Jeremiah Mawanda (UG) 41

Milton Akaki (UG) 39


Fortune Ssentamu (UG) 60

Wazir Omar (UG) 44

Kylan Wekesa (UG) 41

Ali Omar (UG) 32

MX1 Class

Maxime Van Pee (UG) 57

Shivam Vinayak (KEN) 54

Walter Kuria (KEN)


Uganda on course

By Our media team

Miguel and Jonathan Katende in action at the FIM CAC in Nairobi

Nairobi Kenya: It was a wet a slipey and muddy track, but visitors uganda could not Kenya to take advantage of the home turf in the final round of the FIM Central Africa Motocross Championship.

In the 50 cc class It was Miguel Katende, Ramathan Mubiru, Liam Ntale taking the 1,2,3 position in the first Heat on Saturday .

In the 65 cc Gift sebuguzi still beat a stiff opposition from the host to win the first heat, while in the 85cc class, Waleed Omar, Jeremaih Mawanda anf Milton Akaki took thefirst fouth and fifth positions respectively.

Ali omar Yasser in action

In the MX125 cc class, Fortune Ssentamu and sali Omar Yasser took a 1,2 and Kylan Wekesa camer fourth in another race dominated by Uganda, which gives hope that Team Uganda will retain the trophy for the seven -time runnung.

Omulangira Jeremaih Mawanda in action at FIM CAC

In the MX1 class Maxime Van pee won the race followed by Kenya;s Shivam Vinayak , while George Sserugunda missed out on scoring after failing to make 75% of the Race in theMX1 class.

Fortune Sentamu in action.

Team Uganda is spomnsored by Uganda Lodges, National Council of Sports and Lato Milk