USPA introduces Fans Choice Award category ahead of gala


Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA), an umbrella body that brings together sports journalists in the country together with their sponsors Nile Special have introduced the Fans Choice Award category for the 2019 USPA awards. The annual awards gala that recognises the best achievers in different sports disciplines is scheduled for Friday April 5 this year.

According to a press statement released by the body, the new category, the first in the history of the awards, will see fans vote for their best sports personality .

Fans will have to visit the body’s online portal where they will have a single vote to cast for their most impressive sports achiever for the year 2018. Voting will close on Wednesday, April 3.

Uganda Cranes captain Dennis Onyango, double commonwealth gold medalist Joshua Cheptegei, Rugby sensation Phillip Wokorach and Netball star Lillian Ajio are the four choices available in the poll. 

The Statement in Full and guidelines on how to vote.

Over the years, USPA and Nile Special have celebrated the success of Uganda’s sports personalities.
Yet again, we draw closer to another momentous day when sports journalists and sports fraternity gather to revel in the sporting achievements of 2018.
More than 40 sports personalities will be awarded at the 2018 Nile Special-USPA Gala next month (Friday 5th April 2019).

The award by USPA for the overall sports personality is the grand award on the night.As a way of adding more excitement to the awards, for the first-time sports fans will now be involved in selecting their most outstanding sports personality.
This category award has been named – The Nile Special Fans’ Choice Award. The recipient will be one of the top four nominees for the overall award.
An online voting process on the USPA website ( shall be used to get the winner and voting is open to everyone.
Sports fans will be required to cast their vote once. The results can also be viewed immediately. Voting starts on Friday 22nd March 2019 and will close on 3rd April 2019.

How to Vote?
If on computer
–       Go to
–       At the right side of your screen you will find the poll
–       Select your choice of Sports Personality of the year.

If on phone
–       Go to
–       At the extreme bottom of your screen you will find the poll
–       Select your choice of Sports Personality of the year.

The winner will be announced on the Nile Special-USPA Awards Gala night due Friday 5th April 2019.

Naguru Katali primary school gets All weather court

Naguru Katali primary school in Nakawa will get an All Weather court coutersy of the French embassador Stephanie Rivoal made the promise on Friday march 22,2019 at the school campus.

At the same venue the French pacific Army also donated sports equipment which included balls, rugby jersey and scholarstic Materials to the school and were handed over to Nakawa Mayor Eng. Ronald Balimwezo and Town Clerk Rosette Natumanya.

The court will be used for handball, Volleyball,tennis,basketball netball and other sports disciplines.

The French Pacific Army team Leader (R) hands over Sports Equipment to Nakawa Mayor Eng. Ronald Balimwezo in blue coat and Town Clerk Rosette Natumanya as French ambassador to Uganda Stephanie Rivoal blue T-shirt and other school officials looks on at the Naguru Katali primary School on Friday March 22,2019. PHOTO BY JOHNSON WERE

CMC rally starts at Grand Praclos Hotel Mukono

The second round of the National Rally championship has started with a drivers briefing at Grand Praclos Hotel Mukono.

The drivers were urged to observe speed after the flying finish to the control because the section ends at the flying Finish.

The cars now head to Festino Cite for the Super Special stage where drivers will battle it out in the 6.8kms distance.

John Barrows who returns from a year sabbatical has promised the big boys a run foir their money as he said,”I had a year of no show, but I’m back and target the top 10 position.

CMC Rally: Former champ Ssebuguzi to open route



Friday 11am – 5pm at Shell Lugogo

Namere -Gegedde -13.99kms (Viewing point at Biyinzika plant)

Mpoza – Nakapinyi -10.56km (Viewing point at Takajjunge and Nakapinyi)

Nandagi – Nama -15.54kms (Viewing point at Nakapinyi)

Competitive Distance 126.81km

Transport Distance 90.64kms

Total distance 217.45Kms

Ronald Ssebuguzi is to open the route in the Central Motor Club (CMC) Challenge Rally 2019, due Friday, March 8 to Sunday, March 10 in Mukono.

The CMC event is the second round of the 2019 National Rally Championship. The round in Mbarara was won by Jas Mangat Joseph Kamya in a Mitsubishi Evo X followed by Arthur Blick and then Hassan Alwi in third position. Duncan ‘Kikankane’ Mubiru was fourth.

Ssebuguzi, who finished a distant fifth in Mbarara, will face stiff competition from a field of over 50 drivers who have confirmed participation in this weekend’s event which will see cars competing in the super special stage on Saturday at Festino Cite 3.27km before going through three competitive sections that will be repeated thrice each in areas of Mukono on Sunday.

Leon Ssenyange, Ssebuguzi’s co-driver, believes the crew are in fine shape and good to go with targets of grabbing a top finish in the event.

“We have seen tested ourselves with the route and we believe we will not face a major challenge because we have been in similar situations before and all we need to do is to maintain our notes and speeds for a successful event. The route is basically tight, some parts rough and speedy but if no rains happen we will surely do our best and come out top,” added Leon Ssenyange.

The event

Clerk of the course (COC ) David Nsobya emphasized safety in the rally especially to all rally fans who are going to be viewing the cars.

“I humbly request all fans to ensure they listen to all safety marshals on guidance of where to park and view cars from. We don’t need many fans on the road since drivers will be using the same routes for transport to start competitive sections,” added Nsobya.

This event will be closely monitored by FIA delegates Willy Dupresis, Steve Hurding and Bertil Karian from South Africa and Sweden to ensure it’s a safe rally.