It’s a great opportunity to involve fans in USPA awards


Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) was founded in 1970 and has through the years recognised and awarded excelling sports personalities of each year. Winning the coveted USPA Award has since become every sports personality’s dream, and in the process the awards have brought the best out of sportsmen and women.

On April Friday 5, USPA will yet again award the outstanding sports personalities of 2018 at a glamourous function which will be held at Imperial Royale Hotel. Apart from the glamour which has been changing since 1970, there is something that will happen for the first time.

We are involving the fans in choosing the overall sports personality of the year. There are four choices to choose from – Netballer Lillian Ajio, Rugby star Phillip Wokorach, Uganda Cranes captain Denis Onyango and
Commonwealth Games double gold medalist JJoshua Cheptegei. The winner of the category will be announced on the gala night together with all the others.

USPA members will vote for their overall winner and that will remain the biggest award of the night. But as an association we are delighted to know what the general public thinks about the performances of those three gentlemen and lady.

The parameters used by sports journalists to decide the winner are obviously different from those of a normal fan. USPA members go through all the data available about sportsmen and women’s performances through their year, and after thorough scrutiny they choose a winner. It’s important for us to know the choice of the people that we serve.

Apart from that, we are also going to invite some fans to the awards ceremony, these are going to be invited through our sponsors’ (Nile Special) social media platforms, we are excited to celebrate with them the sporting achievements of 2018.

It’s exciting to see the excitement that has been created by the online poll and we are delighted to break the norm and involve the fans because without them, the sports industry cannot survive.

Thank you for joining us in celebrating the sporting successes of 2018.

USPA introduces Fans Choice Award category ahead of gala


Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA), an umbrella body that brings together sports journalists in the country together with their sponsors Nile Special have introduced the Fans Choice Award category for the 2019 USPA awards. The annual awards gala that recognises the best achievers in different sports disciplines is scheduled for Friday April 5 this year.

According to a press statement released by the body, the new category, the first in the history of the awards, will see fans vote for their best sports personality .

Fans will have to visit the body’s online portal where they will have a single vote to cast for their most impressive sports achiever for the year 2018. Voting will close on Wednesday, April 3.

Uganda Cranes captain Dennis Onyango, double commonwealth gold medalist Joshua Cheptegei, Rugby sensation Phillip Wokorach and Netball star Lillian Ajio are the four choices available in the poll. 

The Statement in Full and guidelines on how to vote.

Over the years, USPA and Nile Special have celebrated the success of Uganda’s sports personalities.
Yet again, we draw closer to another momentous day when sports journalists and sports fraternity gather to revel in the sporting achievements of 2018.
More than 40 sports personalities will be awarded at the 2018 Nile Special-USPA Gala next month (Friday 5th April 2019).

The award by USPA for the overall sports personality is the grand award on the night.As a way of adding more excitement to the awards, for the first-time sports fans will now be involved in selecting their most outstanding sports personality.
This category award has been named – The Nile Special Fans’ Choice Award. The recipient will be one of the top four nominees for the overall award.
An online voting process on the USPA website ( shall be used to get the winner and voting is open to everyone.
Sports fans will be required to cast their vote once. The results can also be viewed immediately. Voting starts on Friday 22nd March 2019 and will close on 3rd April 2019.

How to Vote?
If on computer
–       Go to
–       At the right side of your screen you will find the poll
–       Select your choice of Sports Personality of the year.

If on phone
–       Go to
–       At the extreme bottom of your screen you will find the poll
–       Select your choice of Sports Personality of the year.

The winner will be announced on the Nile Special-USPA Awards Gala night due Friday 5th April 2019.